+22 "College is a scam" is a sentiment held by people who are either insecure they don't have a degree, or people with degrees that are just starting their careers. amirite?

by Anonymous 1 week ago

I'd also add people who lack nuance. Some places can be scam, some degrees can be scams, some programs for certain degrees can be scams (vs other programs at other colleges and universities), but the idea of higher education isn't in of itself a scam, IMO, even with all the issues that are present in academia.

by Anonymous 1 week ago

This is basically what I came here to say. College (and higher education in general) isn't a scam in and of itself. It's what you want to do with it and what you choose to major in that could make it be considered a "scam"

by Anonymous 1 week ago

I work in software development and every single time I interview they absolutely love that I have a 4 year degree. I don't think I learned as much as I needed to at that college but I do think that it shows potential employers that I can at least handle 4 years of focus on writing code. ALOT of developers from boot camps burn out very quickly in my experience.

by Substantial-Food 1 week ago

I've been in this field for a decade, they still like that I have the degree

by Substantial-Food 1 week ago

Depends on what field I guess. At my work they need at least bachelors to go up in leadership.

by Neither-Pangolin-216 1 week ago

How much of that data is skewed by the socio-economic status of the individuals that are able to get into university in the first place?

by Impossible-One 1 week ago

300k for a lifetime adds up to jack squat

by Anonymous 1 week ago

I had to scroll down so far for someone to say that, 300k really is not much a difference.

by Mission-Nature5718 1 week ago

A 300k return on an investment is a good investment.

by Anonymous 1 week ago

Don't get a social science degree then

by Qblock 1 week ago